2020 NRG Business Solutions Excellence in Energy Awards

Back to award details

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the Excellence in Energy Awards?

  • The Excellence in Energy Awards recognize customers that have demonstrated commitment in one of three areas and share NRG’s vision.

    The Awards will identify companies that demonstrate the strongest commitment to planning and implementing sustainability goals, energy efficiency goals, or community service.

What’s the submission deadline?

  • September 30, 2021

What types of NRG customers are eligible?

  • Any current customers having a valid contract with:
    • Reliant and NRG Business
      • Supply/Power – mid-markets and large business (energy peak demand over 50kW)
      • Sustainability
      • Energy Efficiency
      • Demand Response
    • Direct Energy Business
      • Natural gas (over 10,000 Dth)
      • Supply/Power (energy peak demand over 50kW)

When is the event ceremony?

  • This year there will be no event ceremony. The winner will be interviewed by an NRG leader and that interview will be showcased in a press release with a link to all or a selected portion of the interview. The press release announcing the winners will be released on November 17, 2021.

How will NRG evaluate your entry?

  • You must submit an essay describing an activity or set of activities by your company that directly resulted in a measurable impact in the award category that was completed between the most recent effective date of your company’s customer relationship with an NRG affiliate and June 31, 2021.
  • A panel of five judges affiliated with NRG will review the essay submissions and chose customers who have demonstrated the strongest commitment to planning and implementation in each of the categories.

How does my organization submit an entry?

  • Visit nrg.com/customerawards to complete a nomination form. You can submit an entry on your own behalf or nominate another organization.

Can my organization submit entries in multiple categories?

  • Each customer may submit one nomination per category.

Can brokers or NRG or Direct Energy Account Executives submit nominations on behalf of customers?

  • Yes, brokers and NRG or Direct Energy team members can submit customer nominations.

Can Direct Energy customers submit entries?

  • Yes, Direct Energy is now a part of the NRG family and its customers can be considered for the Excellence in Energy Awards.

What are the prizes for each winner?

  • For each category the winner will receive:
    • A crystal trophy
    • Award framed certificate
    • Customer video to showcase on their webpage or in other marketing materials
    • External recognition with a Press Release and being featured in an NRG newsletter article

Where can I view last year’s ceremony?

Who can I contact with questions?

Is there an entry fee?

  • No, there is no cost to nominate or participate

What information do I need to collect before submitting a nomination?

  • Simply describe an activity or set of activities that directly resulted in a measurable impact the award category that was completed by June 31, 2021. Be sure to provide links to external sources or websites that support your submission.

When are winners announced?

  • The winners will be announced by a press release on November 17, 2021. The press release will feature the winners’ interviews with an NRG leader.